User login

CU Champions Sweep Missouri Races

All four candidates endorsed by the Missouri Credit Union Association (MCUA) as 2012 Credit Union Champions won their respective races on Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2012. Champions include:

  • Congressman Lacy Clay (D-District 1)
  • Congresswoman-elect Ann Wagner (R-District 2)
  • MO Representative-elect Jon Carpenter (D-District 15)
  • MO Representative-elect Michael Frame (D-District 111)

Candidates qualified to receive the Credit Union Champion designation only after review by MCUA's Governmental Affairs Committee and Board of Directors. Champions pledged to support credit union issues when elected. They received higher campaign contributions than other candidates as well as assistance in their campaigns. Credit union volunteers worked in campaign fundraisers, participated in literature drops, distributed yard signs and worked the polls on election day.  

Only one Credit Union Champion, Congressman Lacy Clay (D-District1), was elected as an incumbent. Two candidates, Congresswoman-elect Ann Wagner (R-District 2) and MO Representative-elect Jon Carpenter (D-District 15), will be serving for the first time in public office. Representative-elect Michael Frame (D-District 111) served previously in the Missouri House from 2006 to 2010 where he consistently supported credit union legislation.

According to Peggy Nalls, chief advocacy officer, “This is the first election MCUA has designated Credit Union Champions. You can’t overestimate the importance of building relationships with candidates prior to the election. It proves that credit unions are there to partner with legislators who support credit unions. And, it shows we will do more than just ask them to vote yes on our issues – that we’re going to work with them in the campaigns. You can expect MCUA to build on the Credit Union Champion endorsement process in future elections.”

Federal Election Results

Missourians decided on a U.S. Senator and eight U.S. Representatives on November 6.  U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill (D) defeated Congressman Todd Akin (R) to retain her Senate seat.  McCaskill won by a 55% to 39% margin in a race that many believed would be much closer.

Here are the results of the Congressional district elections.

District 1:  Credit Union Champion William “Lacy” Clay (D)
District 2:  Credit Union Champion Ann Wagner (R)
District 3:  Blaine Luetkemeyer (R)
District 4:  Vicky Hartzler (R)
District 5:  Emanuel Cleaver (D)
District 6:  Sam Graves (R)
District 7:  Billy Long (R)
District 8:  Jo Ann Emerson (R)

“Thank you to those in the Missouri credit union community who met with candidates, worked on campaigns, contributed to our PAC and individually to candidates, and took part in watch parties on election nights,” said Amy McLard, vice president of Federal Legislative Affairs. “This work is essential to building relationships with our members of Congress, and has a tremendous impact as we head into the next Congress. There are very big issues ahead for credit unions on the federal level.”

Missouri Statewide Races:  Incumbents Return to Jefferson City, Secretary of State Open Seat Won by Narrow Margin

Governor:  Jay Nixon (D)
Lt. Governor:  Peter Kinder (R)
Treasurer:  Clint Zweifel (D)
Attorney General:  Chris Koster (D)

Robin Carnahan, current Secretary of State, decided not to run for re-election in 2012.  In an extremely tight race between two Missouri House members, Jason Kander (D) won against Shane Schoeller (R), 48.8% to 47.5%, with a difference of 33,000 votes statewide.

Credit Union Friends Win Races for General Assembly

The following are candidates who had general election races and have demonstrated credit union support.  There are a number of credit union friends already elected because they faced no challengers on Nov. 6

State Senate District 1 – Scott Sifton (D) won against incumbent Jim Lembke (R) (Note:  Both legislators are credit union supporters.)
State Senate District 11 - Paul LeVota (D)
State Senate District 13 – Gina Walsh (D)
State Senate District 17 – Ryan Silvey (R)
State Representative District 31 – Shelia Solon (R)
State Representative District 32 – Jeanie Lauer (R)
State Representative District 41 – Ed Schieffer (D)
State Representative District 72 – Mary Nichols (D)
State Representative District 92 – Genise Montecillo (D)
State Representative District 94 – Vicki Englund (D)
State Representative District 105 – Mark Parkinson (R)
State Representative District 113 – Jeff Roorda (D)

Credit Union Supporters Not Returning to Jefferson City

Representative Joe Fallert (D) was unsuccessful in his bid for State Senate District 3.  Former State Representative Sam Komo (D) was unsuccessful in run for House District 97. Representative Melissa Leach (R) was unsuccessful against Charlie Norr (D) for House District 132. Norr had been unseated by Leach in 2010.  Central Missouri Credit Union volunteer Phyllis Domann (D) ran in House District 52. Chief Advocacy Office Peggy Nalls noted, “Although her race was unsuccessful, it raised the awareness of credit unions as players in state races.”

Taking Action Post-Election

The MCUA Advocacy team will begin contacting newly elected legislators to provide information on credit unions and our issues. If you would like to participate in these meetings, contact MCUA Political Specialist David Kent by e-mail or call 800.392.3074, ext. 1343. 

For more information on federal races, contact VP Federal Legislative Affairs Amy McLard by e-mail or call 800.392.3074, ext. 1370. For information on state races, contact Chief Advocacy Office Peggy Nalls by e-mail or call 800.392.3074, ext. 1305.