User login

Credit Union Supporters Fare Well in August Primary Election

Credit union-backed candidates fared well in the Missouri primary election on August 7. 

“Redistricting of all districts on the federal and state level made predicting primary winners more challenging than in the past, but overall, credit unions supported candidates who won in the primary,” says Peggy Nalls, Missouri Credit Union Association Chief Advocacy Officer. 

Among federal races, long-time credit union supporter Congressman Todd Akin (R-District 2) won in a field of eight Republican candidates.  Akin will face off against incumbent U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill (D) in the November general election. 

In Congressional District 1 in St. Louis, two strong credit union supporters ran against each other in the Democratic primary. The District 1 incumbent, Congressman William “Lacy” Clay defeated Congressman Russ Carnahan, with 63.2% of the vote to Carnahan’s 33.9%. Carnahan currently serves Congressional District 3, which was eliminated during redistricting.

In the open Congressional District 2, Republican Ann Wagner (R), who has indicated support for the credit union member business lending issue and federal income tax exemption, will run against newcomer Glenn Koenen (D) in November. 

At the state level, the Credit Union Political Action Committee (Missouri credit unions’ state political action committee) targeted key primaries where there were no clear winners in order to provide support to credit union friendly incumbents and legislators in leadership positions.  The success rate for picking winners in those races was 86%. 

Primary winners include: (in district number order):
Governor Jay Nixon (D)
Treasurer Clint Zweifel (D)
Representative Jason Holsman (D - Senate District 7)
Former Representative Gina Walsh (D – Senate District 13)
Senator David Pearce (R – District 21)
Representative David Sater (R – Senate District 29)
Representative Tom Shively (D – District 5)
Representative Mike Lair (R – District 7)
Jon Carpenter (D – House District 15) (Carpenter is the nephew of Northland Teachers Community Credit Union CEO Carolyn Ross)
Representative Mary Nichols (D – District 72)
Representative Penny Hubbard (D – District 78)
Representative Mike Colona (D – District 80)
Representative Karla May (D- District 84)
Representative Genise Montecillo (D – District 92)
Representative Mark Parkinson (R – District 105)
Representative Paul Wieland (R – District 112)
Senator Kevin Engler (R) running for House District 116 (Engler is termed out in the Senate)
Representative Sandy Crawford (D – District 129)
Representative Melissa Leach (R – District 132)

Credit union friends who will not proceed to the general election include:
Representative Scott Largent (R) lost the primary for Senate District 31
Representative Sylvester Taylor (D) lost in House District 75
Representative Tracy McCreery (D) lost in House District 71

District maps have changed significantly due to redistricting following the 2010 Census.  It is recommended to check your districts for both your home address and credit union locations.  Click here for a “find your legislator” link that will help. 

The Missouri Credit Union Association Advocacy staff is arranging dates for election previews around the state, with tailored presentations for each region. Information on candidates is always appreciated. If you have information to share on a candidate running for office please contact: MCUS Chief Advocacy Officer Peggy Nalls,  or 573.645.1993.

Credit unions are welcome to use information in this article for communications with staff, board, and members.

Vocab Legislation: