User login

Senator Blunt and Congressman Long Cosponsor ATM Disclosure Bill

Senator Blunt and Congressman Long Cosponsor ATM Disclosure Bill

U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (R) and U.S. Representative Billy Long (R-District 7) have signed on as cosponsors to the ATM disclosure bills in the U.S. Senate and U.S. House, respectively. 

Sen. Blunt is the first Missouri U.S. Senator to sign onto S. 3204, a bill to amend the Electronic Fund Transfer Act (EFTA) and eliminate the physical ATM fee sign requirement.    Six of Missouri’s nine U.S. Representatives are now cosponsoring H.R. 4367, which deals with the same issue.  It was introduced by Missouri U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-District 9).  In addition to Congressman Long, H.R. 4367 is cosponsored by U.S. Reps. William Lacy Clay (D-District 1), Emanuel Cleaver II (D-District 5), Sam Graves (R-District 6), and Jo Ann Emerson (R-District 8).

H.R. 4367 and S. 3204 would eliminate the EFTA requirement for a physical ATM fee disclosure notice.  Instead, only an electronic disclosure on the screen of any fee that may be incurred by the ATM user would be required.  

“I’m pleased to support this bipartisan, common-sense legislation to remove an excessive burden for financial institutions," states U.S. Sen. Blunt. "While consumer protection remains a serious priority of mine, lifting this unnecessary dual notice requirement will help to protect ATM owners and operators, including credit unions, from frivolous and costly lawsuits.” 

Missouri credit union staff and board members are encouraged to contact the U.S. Representatives who are cosponsors, as well as U.S. Sen. Blunt, to thank them for their support of the ATM disclosure bill.  It is also suggested to contact U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill to encourage her support of the ATM disclosure bill, S. 3204. 

Reaching out to the Senate offices also provides an additional opportunity to ask for the Senators’ support of S. 2231, the Credit Union Small Business Jobs Act.

Here are the contact options for each office:

U.S. Senators

U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (R) – ATM disclosure bill cosponsor

Phone:  202.224.5721

District Office Contact Information:

Blunt general email:

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill (D)

Phone:  202.224.6154

District Office Contact Information:

McCaskill general email:


U.S. House ATM Disclosure Bill Cosponsors:

U.S. Representative William “Lacy” Clay (D-District 1)

Phone:  202-225-2406


U.S. Representative Emanuel Cleaver (D-District 5)

Phone:  202-225-4535


U.S. Representative Jo Ann Emerson (R-District 8)

Phone:  202-225-4404


U.S. Representative Sam Graves (R-District 6)

Phone:  202-225-7041


U.S. Representative Billy Long (R-District 7)

Phone:  202-225-6536


U.S. Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-District 9)

Phone:  202-225-2956