User login

Vantage Announces 20 Quest for Education Scholarship Recipients

Twenty area high school seniors will be receiving a visit from a Vantage Credit Union representative in the next few weeks to present them with a Quest for Education Scholarship. Each year, Vantage executives and managers attend scholarship presentations around the region to award 20 - $1,000 scholarships.

Vantage Credit Union recognizes the importance of higher education for a successful future. With college tuition consistently on the rise, Vantage strives to give back to younger members for all their hard work and dedication.

Winners of the 2011 Quest For Education Scholarships were judged on a combination of student-written essays; appropriate honors and awards; participation in extracurricular, community and volunteer activities; recommendation letters; and credit union membership. Volunteer scholarship judges consisted of local educators, Vantage Board and Supervisory Committee members, and select employees.

Students from 12 public and 7 private schools, in both Missouri and Illinois, won scholarships. In the past 29 years, Vantage has awarded over $552,500 in scholarships to area high school seniors.

The winners are listed below in alphabetical order by school name, include:  Christian Brothers College, Patrick Masterson; Civic Memorial, Kyle Norris; Eureka High School, Kathleen Engsberg; Festus High School, Desari Robinette; Francis Howell Central, Jayden Lumpa; Francis Howell North, Erin Powelson; Herculaneum High School, Amy Graham; Lafayette High School, Emily Nischwitz; Marquette High School, Lauren Groppenbacher; McCluer High, Glennon McDonald; Nerinx Hall, Allison Luecke and Alexis Neukirch; St. Charles High, Melissa Griffith;   St. Dominic, Steven Curran; St. Joseph’s Academy, Caterina Fedyk; St Louis University High School, Matthew Cooley; Sullivan High School, Haley Klauser; Ursuline Academy, Erin Cicotte; Visitation Academy, Gretta Boerding; and Webster Groves High School, Christopher Wolk.