User login

Kansas House Elects New Leadership

  Speaker of the House 
Ron Ryckman
  Minority Leader
Tom Sawyer

Four new leaders were elected to the top five spots in Kansas House leadership last week.

Republicans re-elected Ron Ryckman (R-Olathe) to a second term as Speaker of the House over Rep. Owen Donohoe (R-Shawnee), and voted in two new members of leadership. Rep. Dan Hawkins (R-Wichita) was named Majority Leader over current Majority Leader Don Hineman (R-Dighton). Rep. Blaine Finch (R-Ottawa) won Speaker Pro Tem over Rep. Kyle Hoffman (R-Coldwater). Both of the new GOP leaders have worked closely with Kansas credit unions, Hawkins as a member of the House Financial Institutions Committee and Finch as author of the consumer protection legislation that has helped protect credit unions from frivolous ADA litigation.

Democrats also elected two new leaders, Rep. Tom Sawyer (D-Wichita) won the title of Minority Leader over current Minority Leader Jim Ward (D-Wichita), and Rep. Valdenia Winn (D-Kansas City) was elected Assistant Minority Leader over current Assistant Minority Leader Stan Frownfelter (D-Kansas City).







Vocab Legislation: