User login

Gearing Up on the Federal Level

  Sharice Davids Steve Watkins Josh Hawley

When members of the U.S. Senate and U.S. House are sworn into office on January 3, 2019, they will include three new members of the Kansas and Missouri delegations. Josh Hawley (R-MO) will join the U.S. Senate, and Steve Watkins (R-District 2) and Sharice Davids (D-District 3) will take their seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. These new members have already spent time in Washington, D.C., going through orientation and preparing staffs for the upcoming session. Committee appointments for all members are still being determined in both the U.S. House and U.S. Senate. While there will be shifting of committees in the U.S. Senate, the biggest changes will take place in the U.S. House. With Democrats in the majority in the U.S. House, chairmanships will change across the board in all committees and subcommittees. HCUA Advocacy will keep you posted on appointments for our delegation and in key committees, and on opportunities to meet with new members of our delegation.

While there are preparations underway for the 2019 session, the U.S. Senate continued with 2018 business with the confirmation of Kathy Kraninger as permanent director of the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (BCFP). The vote was 50-49. Kraninger formerly served in the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). Kraninger replaces Acting Director Mick Mulvaney.