User login

Error message

Notice: unserialize(): Error at offset 1141 of 5362 bytes in variable_initialize() (line 1202 of /srv/www/

CUNA Awards

2019 award information coming soon!

Credit unions in Kansas and Missouri do great things for their members and communities every single day. It's time to be recognized for your efforts! CUNA's National Award programs are designed to encourage and recognize distinguished credit unions that demonstrate social responsibility, the credit union philosophy, and financial education.

View guidelines, timeline and scoring information. (Only those submissions meeting the designated criteria will be recognized as first or second place winners).

What's the difference between the awards?

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Recognition Award is given to a credit union or chapter for its social responsibility projects within the community. 
The award is given for external activities.
Examples: internship programs, charity fund raising, support for public events, donation to social service programs, VITA or EITC assistance, lobbying or advocacy on behalf of K-12, financial education, support for teacher training.

The Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award is given to a credit union to formally recognize demonstration of its practical application of credit union philosophy in action for its members.
Examples: special loan modification program, wealth-building or debt-reduction incentive program, outreach to underserved population, student-run in-school or campus branch, credit union difference campaign, predatory lending alternative, support for member ESL instruction.


The Alphonse Desjardins Award recognizes credit unions and chapters for their financial education efforts.It considers all activities supporting personal finance education for both youth and adults.
Examples of youth activities: classroom presentation series, credit prerequisite course, NEFE HSFPP instruction for underserved group, online personal finance curriculum, live group budgeting simulation, special savers/borrowers club, peer-to-peer financial counseling.
Examples of adult activities: group seminar or webinar, online Q&A with expert, instruction of underserved group, presentation series to SEG group, instruction at personal finance events, one-on-one financial counseling or credit report review, regular personal finance segment in local media.


  • Credit unions should submit in the state their credit union is chartered in. 
  • Featured activities must have taken place between May 2018 and May 2019.
  • Deadline is May 31, 2019
  • A $25 fee is required for each entry. Send your check to: Heartland Credit Union Association, Attn:  Sharon Bahr, 2055 Craigshire Road, Ste. 200, St. Louis, MO  63146


11:59 p.m., May 31 Credit union entries due to HCUA
June 1 - July 20 Judging
July 31 Winning state entries due to CUNA
August Kansas and Missouri state winners announced
September 13 Award winners recognized at Convention & Annual Meeting
October CUNA announces national winners

Credit union entries submitted to us will be judged by other state league representatives. 

  • You must receive at least 80% of the maximum points to be considered a first or second place winner.
  • Entries with the highest score above 80% of the maximum points receive first place recognition and moves on to national judging. Only one entry per category or asset size will move on to the national judging.
  • The next highest score above 80% will receive second place recognition.
  • In the event of a tie, another judge may be asked to judge the entries.

Dora Maxwell
Total points possible - 100
Entries must receive 80 points or higher to be considered a first or second place winner.

Louise Herring
Total points possible - 110
Entries must receive 88 points or higher to be considered a first or second place winner.

Desjardins (Youth and Adult)
Total points possible -  120
Entries must receive 96 points or higher to be considered a first or second place winner.

Questions? Contact Sharon Bahr, 800.392.3074, x1342. 

2018 CUNA state award winners  |  2018 CUNA National award winners

2017 CUNA state award winners  |  2017 CUNA National award winners

2016 CUNA award winners