User login

Kansas State Legislative Update

The 2016 Kansas Legislative Session officially kicked off Monday, January 11 at 2 p.m. So far, 44 new bills have been introduced at the Capitol in addition to the 700+ bills laid over from the 2015 legislative session. Committees will be in full force over the next week or two as more bills continue to be introduced.

Outside of the financial institutions committees, legislators are preparing to tackle a number of issues including another budget shortfall, judicial selection for Supreme Court justices and K-12 school funding.

Last week, HCUA's Haley DaVee testified in front of the Senate Financial Institutions & Insurance Committee and Jerel Wright, Kansas Department of Credit Unions’ Administrator, testified on the state of the credit union industry before both the Senate Financial Institutions & Insurance Committee and the House Financial Institutions & Insurance Committee. 

Four legislators were sworn in as replacements for House of Representatives members who retired in 2015:

  • Rep. Henry Helgerson (D-Wichita) replaces Carolyn Bridges.
  • Rep. Chuck Weber (R-Wichita) replaces Steve Brunk.
  • Rep. Ken Rahjes (R-Agra) replaces Travis Couture-Lovelady.
  • Rep. Ben Scott (D-Topeka) replaces Harold Lane.

Rep. Dan Hawkins (R-Wichita) was elected by House Republicans to serve as GOP Caucus Chair. Hawkins is a member of the House Insurance & Financial Institutions Committee.

Register: Day at the Capitol on Tuesday, February 9

Our strength is in our numbers! Help us promote the importance of credit unions and consumer choice by inviting your staff and board members to be part of our legislative efforts.  

If you have any questions, please contact Haley DaVee or Stephanie Mullholland, (800) 362-2076.

Caption: Kansas Department of Credit Union Administrator Jerel Wright speaking during the House hearing.