User login

Two New Members for Key Committees in Missouri House & Senate

The Missouri General Assembly finalized committee assignments for the 2016 legislative session. Two key committees for credit unions each have a new member. They include:

  • Missouri Senator Jill Schupp (D-District 24) replaces Paul LeVota on the Senate Financial Institutions Committee. LeVota resigned from the Senate in 2015.
  • Newly-elected Missouri Representative Rory Rowland (D-District 29) was named to the House Banking Committee. Rep. Rowland previously worked in the credit union industry and is familiar with credit union philosophy. Rowland replaces Rep. Bill Otto (D-District 70), who was reassigned to a different committee.

Committees are responsible for vetting legislation, hearing public testimony and readying a bill to be heard and debated in either the House or on the Senate floor. In the House, bills begin in an originating committee and if passed, move to select committees overseeing that committee. This process was put in place at the start of the 2015 session.

Below is a list of members for key committees of interest. These committees handle the majority of bills dealing with financial institutions, including credit unions.

Senate - Financial and Governmental Organizations and Elections








House – Select Committee on Financial Institutions and Taxation House - Banking











Missouri Legislation Tracker

Click here for a list of all the bills being tracked (including those above) by HCUA Advocacy. More bills will be reviewed and added as the session continues regarding any impact to credit unions.


Vocab Legislation: