User login

Arsenal Credit Union Recognizes Young Members' Achievements

Students who excel in the classroom and shine in the community during their high school years are recognized each year with college scholarships from Arsenal Credit Union. This year, the credit union awarded a total of $5,400 – the maximum amount possible – to five students who are members of the credit union.

Erin Nischwitz (Lafayette High School) earned a $1,500 scholarship from Arsenal. She plans to pursue a degree in chemistry, followed by a medical degree and PhD in neuroscience, at the University of Science and Technology in Rolla.

Cooper Fritzlen (St. John Vianney High School) received a $1,200 scholarship and will use it toward a degree in biology or animal science at the University of Missouri in Columbia.

Craig Niethe (Bishop DuBourg High School) also received a $1,200 scholarship, which he will apply toward a degree in psychology at Knox College in Galesburg, Ill.

Libby Frink (Seckman High School) was honored with a $750 scholarship. She plans to complete basic training with the National Guard and get a nursing degree from the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg.

Stephanie Gottschlich (Cor Jesu Academy) was another $750 winner. She plans to pursue a degree in elementary education or psychology at the University of Missouri in Columbia.

“Offering assistance to others is a component of the driving force that motivates Arsenal Credit Union to continuously deliver exceptional experiences to our members,” said Zachary Laidlaw, marketing specialist at Arsenal. “By backing the college scholarship program, we are empowered to reward our younger members for their hard work while ardently promoting their futures. We believe that this type of support system creates an everlasting camaraderie within our organization.”

Arsenal has awarded a total of $55,000 to 64 deserving young men and women since the college scholarship program was introduced 19 years ago. Besides academic achievements and community involvement, other criteria used in selecting the winners are extracurricular school activities and a written essay.

Photo (from left): Cooper Fritzlen, Stephanie Gottschlich, Libby Frink, Erin Nischwitz, Craig Niethe