User login

Horizon Credit Union Awards $2,500 in Scholarships

Horizon Credit Union (Macon) hosted its 61st annual meeting on Thursday, March 26, 2015. During the event, President Kay Lucas presented five students with scholarships; the scholarship winners represented three separate school districts. Each student received $500 to use toward their college expenses. In all, Horizon awarded $2,500 in scholarships. 

For 17 years, Horizon has awarded educational scholarships. This year's essay asked students to "describe what membership in the Horizon Credit Union means to me." Winners were selected based on their essay submissions, and careful consideration was given to GPA and ACT scores. A letter of recommendation from a teacher or counselor was required as well. Essays were graded by Kevin Shaw, director of the Office of Small Credit Unions for the Missouri Credit Union Association. 

Caption: Pictured are (from left) Dennis Fessler, board chairman of Horizon Credit Union; Kay Lucas, president of Horizon Credit Union; Stewart McCollum, senior at Brookfield High School; Ryan Peterman, senior at Macon R-1 High School; Christina Pennington, senior at Atlanta C-3 High School; and Kevin Shaw, MCUA Director, Office of Small Credit Unions. 

Caption (bottom): Pictured (from left) are scholarship recipients Hannah Hartung, Macon R-1 graduate and Zach Baase, Macon R-1 graduate.