User login

Missouri Congressional Committee Appointments, Moves

Several members of the Missouri Congressional delegation have committee changes taking effect in 2015 in the 114th Congress, while others are changing office locations.

U.S. Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-District 3) will serve as Chairman of the House Financial Services Subcommittee on Housing and Insurance. 

Missouri currently has four members serving on the House Financial Services Committee – U.S. Reps. Lacy Clay (D-District 1), Ann Wagner (R-District 2), Emanuel Cleaver II (District 5), and Luetkemeyer. The House Financial Services Committee hears many issues of interest for Missouri credit unions.

In addition to serving on the Financial Services Committee, U.S. Rep. Wagner also serves as Senior Deputy Whip in the House of Representatives.

U.S. Representative Jason Smith (R-District 8) was appointed to the U.S. House Ways and Means Committee. This is an influential committee, which will likely handle tax reform issues in the next Congress.

U.S. Representative Sam Graves (R-District 6) has stepped down as Chairman of the House Small Business Committee and will now serve on the House Armed Services Committee.

U.S. Representative Vicky Hartzler (R-District 4) has moved offices from the Longworth to the Rayburn Building. The new address is 2235 Rayburn House Office Building. Five of Missouri’s eight House members now have offices in this building.

On the Senate side, U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (R) serves as Vice Chair of Conference in Republican leadership.

With the new Republican majority in the U.S. Senate, U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill (D) will no longer serve as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection, Product Safety and Insurance or the Subcommittee on Financial & Contracting Oversight.

The 114th Congress convenes on January 6.

Caption: U.S. Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer (top) and U.S. Representative Jason Smith (bottom)