User login

Alliance Awards Five College Scholarships

Alliance Credit Union (Fenton) awarded $1,000 to five recipients of the Dennis J. Sommer Scholarship for Excellence in Education at its 66th annual meeting on May 22, 2014.

Scholarship recipients were selected on their ability to highlight the differences between credit unions and banks and the significance of those differences in an essay. Academic achievements, letters of recommendation and community involvement were also considered in the selection process. This is the 18th year of Alliance's scholarship program, which has awarded more than $60,000 in college scholarships to date.

“Investing in the future leaders within the communities we serve is the best investment a local credit union can make," said Tim Stephens, president and CEO of Alliance. “That’s why honoring the scholarship recipients is the highlight of our annual meeting each year.”

To be eligible, applicants must be an Alliance Credit Union member (or the son, daughter or grandchild of an Alliance member), as well as either a full-time college student or a high school student that will be a full-time college student in the following year.

Caption: Pictured are the 2014 Dennis J. Sommer Scholarship for Excellence in Education winners. (From left): Board Chairman Bob Haul, Mark Farmer, Melanie Young, Anthony McDaniels, Frank Evans, director of Alliance HR, Caitlyn Stephan, Gabrielle Krus and Tim Stephens, Alliance president/CEO.