User login

Start Thinking About MCUA's 2014 Awards Season

Credit unions in Missouri do great things for their members and communities every day. It's time to share your award-winning activities and programs! Toot your own horn and submit your entries for the Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring and Desjardins (adult and youth) awards. These awards recognize credit union excellence in external activities, internal efforts and youth and adult financial education.

Here at the Missouri Credit Union Association (MCUA), we think you should brag a little about all the extraordinary things you have done. With the 2014 MCUA Recognition Awards right around the corner, it’s the perfect time to share your stories and accomplishments with us.

There are three different awards that your credit union can enter to win, which are listed below.

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Recognition Award
Dora Maxwell was one of the original signers of the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) constitution in Estes Park, Colo. Maxwell worked as an organizer for the movement’s trade association and held numerous volunteer positions at the local and national level.

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Recognition Award is given to a credit union or chapter for its social responsibility projects within the community. The award is given for external activities.

The Louise Herring Award for Philosophy in Action
Louise Herring was an original signer of CUNA’s constitution. Herring believed that credit unions should work in a practical manner to better people’s lives.

The Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award is given to a credit union to formally recognize demonstration of its practical application of credit union philosophy in action for its members.

The Desjardins Financial Education Award (Adult and Youth)
Alphonse Desjardins worked with credit cooperatives in Canada for many years before founding the first credit union in the United States in 1909. He also established youth savings clubs and in-school “banks,” known as caisses scolaires. This award is given for financial education activities to people of all ages.

The Alphonse Desjardins Award recognizes credit unions and chapters for their financial education efforts. It considers all activities supporting personal finance education.

Featured activities must have taken place between May 2013 and May 2014.

This year there is a $25 entry fee for each submission. Entries must arrive at the Missouri Credit Union Association by 5 p.m. on Friday, June 27, 2014. Check out the full brochure for details on what you need to submit. Links to entry forms are available here.