User login

Missouri U.S. Reps Serve on Financial Services & Small Business Committee

As the 113th Congress begins, four out of Missouri’s eight U.S. Representatives have been appointed to serve on the House Financial Services Committee.  This committee focuses on the nation’s financial services and housing sectors, and is typically the first stop for legislation impacting credit unions.  

Members serving on the House Financial Services Committee include:
U.S. Rep. William Lacy Clay (D-District 1)
U.S. Rep. Ann Wagner (R-District 2)
U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-District 3)
U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II (D-District 5)

In addition, U.S. Rep. Sam Graves (R-District 6) was reappointed as chair of the House Small Business Committee, with U.S. Rep. Luetkemeyer serving as vice-chairman for the first time.  The Small Business Committee has jurisdiction over issues related to small business financial aid, regulatory flexibility and paperwork reduction. The panel also has oversight authority for the Small Business Administration and any federal program that affects small business.

Financial Services Committee members have been assigned to various subcommittees and leadership roles.

U.S. Rep. Clay was named as the ranking member on the House Financial Services Subcommittee on International Monetary Policy and Trade.  He also serves on the Insurance, Housing and Community Opportunity Subcommittee.

U.S. Rep. Wagner is newly appointed to the committee and serves on the Capital Markets and Government Sponsored Enterprises and Oversight and Investigations Subcommittees.

U.S. Rep. Luetkemeyer was named vice chairman of the Housing and Insurance Subcommittee.  He also serves on the Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit Subcommittee, which is the initial committee to review issues that typically impact credit unions.

U.S. Rep. Cleaver serves with U.S. Rep. Clay on the Insurance, Housing and Community Opportunity
Subcommittee, and with U.S. Rep. Wagner on the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee.

Photos (Top row, L to R): U.S. Rep. Ann Wagner (R-District 2), U.S. Rep. William "Lacy" Clay (D-District 1), (Bottom row, L to R) U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D-District 5), U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-District 3), U.S. Rep. Sam Graves (R-District 6)