Staff and volunteers from Meritrust Credit Union, Emporia State Federal Credit Union and Mainstreet Credit Union honored at HCUA Convention

Published 9.20.22

Last week, Angie Miller and Rick Dodds were awarded with HCUA's Professional of the Year and Volunteer of the Year award, respectively. John Beverlin was recognized as a Hall of Fame inductee for lifelong commitment to credit unions.

Professional of the Year:
Angie Miller,
Emporia State Federal Credit Union

Angie took the helm as president/CEO of Emporia State Federal Credit Union in 2002 and she grew the staff from less than 10 to over 30. Angie invests in each individual. Her impact extends past staff - she is deeply connected with the membership and has insight into meeting their needs.

Read more

The Professional of the year award honors credit union employees who illustrate the people helping people philosophy every day, selflessly supporting credit unions and demonstrating leadership for the betterment of credit unions and their communities.

Volunteer of the Year:
Rick Dodds,
Meritrust Credit Union

Rick Dodds has been a volunteer of Meritrust Credit Union for over 20 years, serving on the credit union’s credit committee, supervisory committee and board of directors since 2004.
Rick always asks about the voice of the member and how the credit union helps members improve their lives.

Read more

The Volunteer of the Year recognizes credit union volunteers who give their time and talent to support, promote and advocate for the credit union movement. Their efforts have improved people’s lives and enriched their community.

Hall of Fame:
John Beverlin,
Mainstreet Credit Union

In 1986, John started leading as president/CEO. Under his leadership, the credit union serves 70,000+ members. John has served on numerous association boards and held many leadership positions throughout the movement to continuously fight for improvement and to keep up with members changing needs.

Read more

It's not uncommon for employees to spend their whole career in the credit union industry. These "long-timers" have helped credit unions, changed members' lives and impacted the movement in significant and meaningful ways.

Each year, HCUA honors credit union rockstars for their dedication and effort to the credit union movement in Kansas or Missouri. A selection committee may select a nominee(s) meeting the minimum criteria. We recognize selected nominees at our annual Convention & Annual Meeting.

See past award winners.

Questions? Contact Susan Dyer, 800.392.3074, x1362.