User login

St. Louis Community CU Awards Janice Mosby Scholarship

For the third year in a row, the St. Louis Community CU Foundation has offered the Janice Mosby Scholarship opportunity. This year, the foundation partnered with the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association–College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA-CREF) to award scholarships to two eligible adult students.

Each received $2,500 towards his or her educational costs. This year's winners are DeAndre Harris-Bay and Elaine Smick. Harris-Bey attends Lindenwood University and majors in Criminal Justice. He currently works for the St. Louis Metro Treatment Center. Smick is enrolled at St. Louis Community College and majors in Accounting. She works at Aschinger Electric Company.

Recognizing the critical role education plays in the creation of fiscally responsible citizens, the St. Louis Community CU Foundation created the scholarship fund in 2011 to honor the legacy of the late Janice Mosby. Ms. Mosby was a teacher and principal in the St. Louis Public Schools for more than 30 years. With a kind heart and gentle spirit, she dedicated her life to helping students in the community develop to their fullest potential.  

Ms. Mosby served on the St. Louis Community Credit Union’s Board of Directors for 40 years and as a board member of the credit union’s foundation.

To be considered eligible for this unique scholarship opportunity, applicants must be first-time or re-entry students ages 23 or older who are attending college full or part-time and are trying to move forward with their lives.

Since its inception, the St. Louis Community CU Foundation has presented seven scholarship awards.

Pictured: The winners, Elaine Smick and DeAndre Harris-Bay, display their plaques after winning the Janice Mosby Scholarship.